CAMBRIA COMMUNITY SERVICES DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS ADJOURNED SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES Monday, December 11, 2017 12:00 PM

1. OPENING

A. Call to Order

The Board President called the meeting to order at 12:01 p.m.

B. Pledge of Allegiance

The Board President led the Pledge of Allegiance.

C. Establishment of Quorum

A quorum was established.

Directors present: President Rice, Vice President Farmer, Director Bahringer and Director Wharton.

Staff Present: General Manager Jerry Gruber, District Counsel Timothy Carmel, and Administrative Services Officer/District Clerk Monique Madrid.

2. PUBLIC COMMENT ON AGENDA ITEMS

The Board President reminded everyone that this is an adjourned meeting and public comment was previously taken on December 4, 2017, the original meeting date.

3. REGULAR BUSINESS (Estimated time: 15 Minutes per item)

A. DISCUSSION AND CONSIDERATION TO APPOINT A NEW DIRECTOR TO FILL THE VACANCY CREATED BY THE RESIGNATION OF GREGORY SANDERS

The Board President introduced the item and called attendance of the 7 applicants who were previously selected for follow up questioning.

The applicants who were present and previously selected are Dewayne Lee, Mark Herrier, Karen Dean, David Pierson, Dennis Perry, and Tom Gray.

The applicant who was absent is Ron Cristando.

The applicants not selected to advance who were present: Brian Morrow. Allan Fields sent an email which advised he would be present after he finished work around 1:00 p.m.

President Rice asked for a nomination from someone on the short list.

Director Bahringer nominated Tom Gray to fill the vacant seat on the Board of Directors.

Director Wharton seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote:

Director Bahringer-Aye Director Wharton-Aye Vice President Farmer-Nay President Rice-Nay

Motion Failed: 2-Ayes (Bahringer, Wharton), 2-Nays (Farmer, Rice), 0-Absent

Director Bahringer asked if it is true that anyone on the list could be nominated. It was agreed that that was true.

Vice-President Farmer nominated Dewayne Lee to fill the vacant seat on the Board of Directors.

President Rice seconded the motion.

Mr. Lee requested an opportunity to answer some questions from the Board.

Roll Call Vote:

Vice President Farmer-Aye President Rice-Aye Director Wharton-Nay Director Bahringer-Nay

Motion Failed: 2-Ayes (Farmer, Rice), 2-Nays (Bahringer, Wharton), 0-Absent

Director Bahringer stated he had no further nominations.

Director Wharton stated he had no further nominations.

Director Farmer asked why both Directors are no longer in favor of their other selected applicants.

Director Wharton suggested the Board call an election.

President Rice moved to nominate Dennis Perry to fill the vacancy on the Board of Directors.

Vice President Farmer seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote:

President Rice-Aye Vice President Farmer-Aye Director Bahringer-Nay Director Wharton-Nay

Motion Failed: 2-Ayes (Rice, Farmer), 2-Nays (Bahringer, Wharton), 0-Absent

Director Bahringer moved to call a Special Election to allow the two candidates supported by the Directors to run for election.

Director Wharton seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote:

Director Bahringer-Aye Director Wharton-Aye Vice President Farmer-Nay President Rice-Nay

Motion Failed: 2-Ayes (Bahringer, Wharton), 2-Nays (Farmer, Rice), 0-Absent

President Rice moved to nominate David Pierson to fill the vacancy on the Board of Directors.

Vice President Farmer seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote:

President Rice-Aye Vice President Farmer-Aye Director Wharton-Nay Director Bahringer-Nay

Motion Failed: 2-Ayes (Rice, Farmer), 2-Nays (Bahringer, Wharton), 0-Absent

Vice President Farmer moved to remain at the meeting until 4:30 p.m. today to conclude this process.

Motion failed for a lack of a second.

President Rice moved to have the meeting adjourned to a date certain.

Motion failed for a lack of a second.

President Rice called a 10 minute break.

President Rice called the meeting back to order at 2:05 p.m.

Director Wharton moved to appoint Mark Herrier to fill the vacant Board seat.

Director Bahringer seconded the motion with the addition to allow questioning of Mr. Herrier. Mr. Herrier stated he did not review the taped special meeting.

Roll Call Vote:

Director Wharton-Aye Director Bahringer-Aye Vice President Farmer-Nay President Rice-Nay

Motion Failed: 2-Ayes (Wharton, Bahringer) 2-Nays (Farmer, Rice), 0-Absent

Vice President Farmer moved to nominate Karen Dean to fill the vacant Board member seat.

President Rice seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote:

Vice President Farmer-Aye President Rice-Aye Director Wharton-Nay Director Bahringer-Nay

Motion Failed: 2-Ayes (Farmer, Rice), 2-Nays (Bahringer, Wharton), 0-Absent

Director Bahringer moved to continue to a special meeting with a date certain on Tuesday, December 19, 2017 at 12:00 p.m. to address two items.

President Rice seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote: Director Bahringer-Aye President Rice-Aye Director Wharton-Aye Vice President Farmer-Nay

Motion Passed: 3-Ayes (Bahringer, Rice, Wharton), 1-Nay (Farmer), 0-Absent

B. Swear In Appointee

4. ADJOURN

President Rice adjourned the meeting at 3:01 p.m.